Scouting for Food

Healthful living for the body and mind

Pizza Night!

My older sister was in town for the holidays. It was wonderful seeing her. As always there was the big sibling/little sibling tension and arguing. She being the big sibling, needing to correct me and protect me. My being the little sibling rejecting it completely despite her good intentions. All-in-all it was a good trip with many laughs and talks and lots of catching up that was done. On her last night in town, we had pizza night! We all made homemade pizza, each to our own liking. I made a fabulous grain-free, vegan crust for myself.

As I find measuring out ingredients a tedious and boring aspect of cooking I just based my crust off this recipe: http://brittanyangell.com/best-ever-flaky-crispy-gluten-free-thin-crust-pizza-graineggdairysoy-free/

This crust-or the version I made-was great because it required no rolling pin. I just pressed it into the pan, baked it, topped it, and baked it again. The amount I made, made enough for two roughly 8-inch pizzas. I used one and an par-baked the other before freezing it.

For the pizza, make the crust. If you are using the recipe above make sure to follow the directions for pre-baking it. After the pre-baking top your pizza with whatever you’d like and bake again. Viola! You have the greatest pizza ever.

I used olive oil, arugula, basil, garlic, red onion, sun-dried tomatoes, and turkey bacon on mine. If adding meat to your pizza, make sure you cook it most of the way through before topping your pizza. 

 

Image

 

On a separate note, I spend way too much time on tumblr. More time than I am willing to admit. I did see a very cute post I’m going to share with you. Unfortunately, I cannot find the original post so I will share what I remember.

Blogger 1: Can 2014 be the year I become hot?

Blogger 2: No, but it can be the year you realized you always were.

Can I first just say, blogger two is one smooth person? Okay, I will. Blogger two is smooth as all get out. Second, make this the year you realized you were always hot. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. It’s time you become the beholder of your own beauty and realize you are absolutely gorgeous. 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

